The Morpeth Herald was founded on 1 April 1854 by James Mackay, son of a local tailor. Initially a monthly publication, it became a weekly in 1858. It remained in the Mackay family until 1983, when the title was acquired by the Tweeddale Press Group. In 1992, it was sold to Northeast Press, a division of Johnston Press.
For this newspaper, we have the following titles in, or planned for, our digital archive: